Milo Cupcakes with Condensed Milk Frosting

Milo Cupcake with Condensed Milk FrostingThis weekend I was forced to bid farewell to daylight savings here in Melbourne. I think it’s such a sad occasion that it completely deserves a proceeding public holiday or at least a Government funded “here, have a free cupcake day” or something.

Milo Cupcake with Condensed Milk FrostingBut in all honesty I can’t complain too much. We did have a pretty spectacular summer here – sunny and beautiful days, warm and balmy nights; summer perfection. Which sort of half explains the lack of posts here – too beautiful outside to spend time in the kitchen and definitely too hot to use the oven! But alas, the all too familiar BubblyBaker insanity has restored itself in the face of the rapidly approaching cold and gloomy Melbourne winter, which in BubblyBaker world can really only mean one thing – the justification for warm and delicious comfort food (huzzah)!

Milo Cupcake with Condensed Milk FrostingAnd so by comfort foods, what I really mean is copious amounts of chocolate. And by chocolate, I mean hot chocolate, and by hot chocolate I’m really talking about –

Ok, you get the point πŸ˜›

Milo Cupcake with Condensed Milk Frosting

Milo Cupcake with Condensed Milk FrostingSo in preparation for the very cold and dreary mornings ahead, I decided to make these fluffy milo cupcakes frosted with sweetened condensed milk. As recommended by RaspberriCupcakes I left mine in the oven slightly longer than instructed as per the recipe to achieve a more crusty top, and as the batter included sour cream, leaving the cupcakes longer in the oven didn’t affect the moisture of the batter at all – it still came out moist, soft and fluffy! Yummo!
Forewarning though; these cupcakes are ridiculously rich (from the frosting!) and so I highly recommend you down one with either a glass of milk, a glass of water, or if you’re as crazy as myself, a mug of milo πŸ™‚

Milo Cupcake with Condensed Milk Frosting

Milo Cupcakes
Recipe taken from Raspberri Cupcakes
Makes 24 mini cupcakes, and 4 regular sized cupcakes (or approx. 14 cupcakes)

200g plain flour
200g caster sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp bicarb soda
100g Milo (I added about 150 grams of milo)
1 tsp vanilla extract
180g sour cream
170g unsalted butter, softened
2 large eggs

– Preheat oven to 180 degrees C
– Fill cupcake tray with liners.
– Using a food processor, place Β all ingredients into the food processor (flour, sugar, baking powder, bicarb, Milo, vanilla, sour cream, butter, sour cream and eggs) pulse until the mixture is combined and smooth
– Fill cupcake liners until 3/4 full and bake for approx 15-20 mins or a skewer inserted into the centre of a cupcake comes out clean.
– Cool completely on a wire rack before frosting the babies

Condensed Milk Frosting
Makes just enough to generously frost the cupcakes

150g unsalted butter, softened
250 g icing sugar, sifted (increase as required)
6 tbsp sweetened condensed milk
milk (as required)

– Beat the butter until fluffy
– Add the icing sugar into the butter and mix to incorporate
– Add condensed milk into the mixture and beat to combine
– If the mixture is too soft then add more icing sugar. If it is too thick to pipe, add milk by the tablespoon to thin the icing out.
– Frost those babies up!

Have fun πŸ˜€

BubblyBaker

Comments

  1. Oh these look fabulous! I think I am going to have to make these.

  2. Yay, a new post! I love Milo! I also love Horlicks and Ovaltine – all these drinks remind me of my childhood. I love that you put this into cupcake form and then topped it with rich, luscious condensed milk frosting. I need more of your brand of insanity in my life πŸ˜‰ I’m glad you had a fabulous summer and I’m looking forward to all the rich, indulgent, fabulous food you’ll be cooking up this winter.

  3. Milo! Yes! I can eat that stuff by the [heaped] spoonful. These look fab.

  4. They look beautiful! I have a huge tub of milo and I’ve been wondering how to use it in baking – I’ll be giving your cupcakes a try this week πŸ™‚

  5. Love these cupcakes! And photos too! Totally agree with you about daylight savings. Your idea for free cupcake day for that day is awesome, especially if yours will be served πŸ˜‰

  6. Oh wow! I love having milo and condensed milk on icecream (I know…it sounds really bad, but good at the same time, doesn’t it?!), but I had never thought of having it in cupcake form! Thank you so much for sharing πŸ™‚ And I agree…the end of daylight savings is a sad, sad time!

  7. Hi, I just wanted to let you know I have nominated yo for a Liebster Award

  8. Wow, impeccable frosting job as always–your creations are always so beautiful πŸ™‚ Condensed milk frosting on top of the decadent little cakes sound just about like the best thing ever. I’d never heard of milo cupcakes before!!

  9. Elle Gioffre says:

    Cupcakes are awesome just pulled them out of the oven. Cant wait to frost them πŸ™‚

  10. Why do we need to put sour cream?

    • Hi Emily,

      Apologies for the late reply. In case you are still wondering, the sour cream will add to the moistness of the batter so that once baked, the cake will come out deliciously fluffy and moist πŸ™‚

  11. Yummy,I’m definitely gonna try them out🍰🍰 πŸ™‚

  12. Abby Raja says:

    Hi…can we omit sour cream? Is der a substitute for it? Tq
    abi

Trackbacks

  1. […] little gems come from the bubbly baker, and for those of you who don’t know what Milo is, it is a malted chocolate powder that is […]

  2. […] I found these Milo cupcakes with Condensed Milk Buttercream at The Bubbly Baker, […]

  3. axzz3EB4RS5ej

    Milo Cupcakes with Condensed Milk Frosting – The Bubbly Baker

  4. […] some of our awesome cupcake liners and head over to The Bubble Baker for this awesome […]

Leave a comment